Dear Santa

Dear Santa,

How are you? The elves and the reindeer? I really hope that this covid-19 hasn’t bothered you guys too much up there. I know how busy you must have been while the world has been going crazy.

Have you been affected by restrictions? Are you making sure the elves wash their hands while they work? I’m worried that you won’t be able to eat the usual treats that I leave out for you.

What has the world come to, Santa? We’re scared of germs and hugs, and people are becoming increasingly more suspicious of one another. We’re being separated from the people we love and are being left to wither inside concrete walls for weeks on end. When we can eventually leave, we are greeted by a sea of blue mouths and people swerving to avoid one another.

Now Santa, I would like to think of myself as one of your most loyal Christmas cheer spreaders, and I hope you agree. This year, however, I must apologise. For every time I think of this magical holiday, a tear springs to my eye. I can’t help but feel a sense of hopelessness about this year.

Why? Well that’s easy. Because it’s the first year that I will not be able to get home to my family for Christmas. My boyfriend is working and so I’ll be alone come December 25th. I know I am not the only one in this situation, I am standing in solidarity with many others separated from their loved ones this December. Instead of the arrivals gate at Dublin airport filled with families awaiting their loved ones, the gate this year will be left mainly unopened. Maybe there will be the odd airport worker in a Santa hat in compensation.

Christmas, for me, as I’m sure for many others, has always been a time of hope. Even if you have had a difficult year, you know some magic is on its way in December to lift you from your difficult times and guide you onto the right path for the new year. The precious time spent with family gives you a renewed energy, that little push to go on and try again.

What will we do this year, if even that is taken away from us? I don’t have any more energy to keep being positive and look towards the good things in the future. Instead of white snow and sparkly lights, all I see is grey fog ahead. Maybe I’m being over dramatic and sound extremely privileged. I’m sorry if that’s the case, it’s certainly not my intention.

This year, more than ever, I really don’t want any physical possessions. I have no need for more plastic, cotton or polyester in my life. We think that we need these things, but do they really bring us happiness? Maybe for a few minutes until the bandaged void is reopened again, left gaping. It’s obvious to anyone who can see the bigger things in life that it isn’t possessions that bring contentment, but rather the people you spend your life with.

This year, Santa, I’d like to ask you for a Christmas miracle. I know this is asked of you every year for one reason or another, but this time we really need it. I’d like you to muster all your magic and miracle dust and help me out on this one.

My miracle this year would be to have all my family together in the same room for Christmas. I don’t only wish this for myself, but for everyone around the world facing Christmas alone this year. I want to watch the polar express on Christmas Eve and wait for my mam to bring me a ham and turkey sandwich while watching the Father Ted Christmas Special. I want to wake up at 5.30am with my sister to see what presents are in Charlie and Indie’s stockings. I want to eat with my aunts, uncles and cousins and play board games with my uncle dressed up as Santa Claus. I want this nightmare of social distancing and isolation to be over.

I realise there are a lot of “wants” in my wish list and I’m sorry for that. I know that this year is about more that what we want, but rather what we need. So maybe I should scale back and ask for a more achievable miracle.

Santa, this year all I want is for everybody I love to stay safe. For my loved ones in Ireland, Italy and around the world to have a healthy Christmas, even if that means we have to spend it alone.

If you’re really in a generous mood, try to put a word in with the universe to tell it how much we’re trying. Maybe, if it knows how responsible we’re being it will cut us some slack and speed up the recovery of the world so that next Christmas we can hug each other even tighter, eat even more and sing “Fairytale of New York” even louder on the 24th of December.

Sorry for my rant, Santa. I know this year my letter has been longer than usual. Thank you for listening and for always being there for me. For now, I’m going to close my eyes and wait, hoping to hear the magical sound of sleigh bells letting me know that a miracle is on the way.

Love,

Lorna xo

One thought on “Dear Santa

  1. A beautiful letter. Christmas will certainly be different this year with no family around but so long as everyone is safe and they know they are loved that’s all I ask. Take care and stay safe and know you are loved xx

    Like

Leave a comment